~ A little trip to Istria ~

The peninsula of Istria is the largest peninsula not only in Croatia but in the whole territory of the Adriatic Sea. Its name comes from the Histri tribes who inhabited this location somewhere around 200 years BC. Since then Istria had a variety of occupants: it was a part of the Venetian Republic, The Holy Roman Empire, Habsburg Monarchy, The French Empire, The Austrian Empire, etc. Today it’s a part of Croatia and one of its 21 counties.

Since I live really close to Istria, I visited it many times. I’ve been to Pula, Poreč, Rovinj, Pazin, but I never had a chance to see Umag, which is situated in the north-east part of the peninsula.

18290003_120332000521000915_169172909_o.jpg
View through the side window of our car: the mountain Učka.

To come to Istria (at least from the Croatian side) you need to pass the Učka Tunnel. It’s 5 kilometers long, which makes it the third longest tunnel in Croatia. After you pass it, you’ll be greeted by one of the most beautiful sceneries you’ll ever see.

Since Umag is on the other side of the peninsula we had to go through the very heart of Istria.

Along the way we stopped in a little village called Roč which is most famous for the Glagolitic monuments. It’s so small that you can literally see everything worth seeing in about 15 to 20 minutes.

Here are some pictures I took while I was exploring the place:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I don’t want to bore you with historical details, so I’ll just put a link where those who are interested can read more about this beautiful village: ** CLICK RIGHT HERE IF YOU’RE INTERESTED **

It took us some time to get to Umag, not only because it’s on the other side of the peninsula, but also because we didn’t take the highway and the road we were travelling on didn’t really have signs that showed us where we have to go – a big minus here for Istria btw. But in the end it was really worth it because we had the opportunity to see the stunning scenery: the river Mirna, stone-made little houses which are called “hiže” in Croatian, trees, domestic animals and so on..

When we finally arrived to our destination, we were surprised by how amazingly different it is in comparison with other towns in Istria (and also Croatia), but of course in a positive way.

The pictures I took there:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And of course, the only thing better than eating pizza is eating pizza by the sea! The pizzeria we were in had kind of an Italian vibe (at least for me) and was really cosy. The pizza was great and I really enjoyed it. I think the place was called “Bijeli san” or something like that.

Fortunately, the town wasn’t crowded with tourists, so we got the chance to see everything in peace. Umag itself is an interesting city, and I would gladly visit it again.

I feel like I’m promoting the tourism in Croatia, but still, I’ll put another link but this time about Umag, for those who are interested: This is the link.

In the end, I think that Istria is one of the most wonderful places in my country and if you’re planning to visit Croatia, be sure to go to Istria and see all the beauty of it yourself.

Hope you enjoyed this post!

 

Mia 🙂

 

 

 

 

P.S. I’m really sorry if the post is too short and if the pictures are not of the best quality, I wasn’t uploading them directly from my phone so they might not look so good as they originally do.

Leave a Reply

