Something that awaits us all…

Gandalf: “End? No, the journey doesn’t end here. Death is just another path, one that we all must take. The grey rain-curtain of this world rolls back, and all turns to silver glass, and then you see it. (…) White shores, and beyond, a far green country under a swift sunrise.”

J.R.R. Tolkien, The Lord of the Rings

The older I get, the more I’m aware of that one thing that awaits us all: death.

Ever since I was very young I spent a lot of my time thinking about death. Is there something after this life? Is there a way for us to live forever? Why do people even have to die?

Luckily, during my childhood I didn’t have to witness any deaths. I used to hear about my friends’ grandparents, aunts, uncles dying but never had to experience something like that myself. Of course, my family members aren’t immortal and in July 2015, my grandma died.

I remember being so heartbroken and crying non-stop. I believe it to be one of the worst periods in my life, even though I kind of expected such thing to happen. You just can’t be fully prepared for it. The worst was the funeral and the people who came to express condolences: they really make you completely aware of everything that’s happened. The feeling I got when we reached the grave and had to say our final goodbyes was something I just couldn’t handle. I was finally aware of the fact that I’ll never see my grandma again.

Some people even told me: “It’s not odd for old and sick people to die so fast. Life just has to go on.” And I kinda agree with them.

Unfortunately, it’s not always just old and sick people. In February this year, a girl from school passed away. I didn’t even know her, I only saw her on the school’s hallways, but the fact, that such a young person, a person my age, can leave this world so fast was just…..I don’t know…I just can’t find a word that would express what I was feeling (and what I’m still feeling).

For my sanity, I like to believe there is Heaven and that that is the place where most of us end up when our life comes to an end. This life just can’t be it, there has to be something more. I’m not judging you if you don’t think the same (so please don’t judge me..), it’s just my way of accepting the inevitable.

I decided to use one of my favourite quotes from one of my favourite books: Return of the King by J.R.R. Tolkien. Whenever someone dear to me passes away (whether it be a person I personally know or just an actor or a singer that I like), I always go back to Gandalf’s quote which perfectly sums up my own opinion on death.

In the end, we should all live our life to the fullest. Death is something we shouldn’t fear, just because we can’t escape it. All we can do is accept the fact that it awaits us in the future and try to not think about it too much. Appreciate the life you’ve got and all the people who make it better!

 

Mia 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

