Procrastination

pro·cras·ti·nate

(prō-krăs′tə-nāt′, prə-)

v. pro·cras·ti·nat·ed, pro·cras·ti·nat·ing, pro·cras·ti·nates
v.intr.

To put off doing something, especially out of habitual carelessness or laziness.
v.tr.

To postpone or delay needlessly.
I’m sure you’re all familiar with this term. Everyone procrastinated at least once in their life, it’s just something we can’t escape from. Unfortunately, I’m dealing with it a lot more lately. Since the winter break is over and school has started again, my list of “things to do” has expanded….a lot…..
Homeworks, books to read, studying to do… and what am I really doing? I’m rewatching The Walking Dead and The Lord of the Rings, reading The Hunger Games,…
My mind is still somewhere at the end of December, not thinking about the consequences I’ll have to face later. I finally decided to put an end to it and try to motivate myself to do the things I actually have to do.
When I decide to study, I move to a quiet place, turn off my phone, laptop, TV, anything that could distract me. But of course, I’m not studying non-stop. I take breaks every 30-45 minutes and check my messages or something like that.
When I’m done, I usually treat myself with a snack or a movie, depending on how much time I’ve got left.
It’s important to set your goals and just force yourself to do the work you have to do. Controlling yourself can be a tough job, but at the end,  I think it’s worth it. Instead of doing everyhting in the last minute, you have extra time to do something you like and relax. Not only that, but it’ll be much more less stressful.
Do you have any particular ideas on how to stop yourself from procrastination? Can you actually do it?
Be free to leave your experiences down in the comments.
Until the next post!
Mia
Leave a Reply

